The Department of Philosophy seeks to provide a foundation for a healthy and sound intellectual, moral, and religious formation. It also aims to enhance and strengthen the students‘ cognitive faculty towards the recognition of the inexhaustible aspects of rational and scientific knowledge in view of realizing their full potential as human beings. This is expected to be achieved through quality teaching, research and general dissemination of knowledge.


At the end of the programme, the graduates should be able to:

  • Have a holistic understanding of themselves and the world around them in view of making society a better place to livein;
  • Seek knowledge in the fulfilment of the human desire to know and use the same knowledge for the betterment of society;
  • Make good critical and creative decisions for the enhancement ofsociety;
  • Search for and defend the truth at alltimes;
  • Champion the rights of the people/citizens in the interests ofjustice;
  • Devoted to duty and responsible citizens who strive to do good for its own sake as opposed to doing good for some other motive.

Candidates to the degree of Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy must fulfil the minimum general University entry requirements for a Bachelors Programme. In addition, the applicants must have scored a C+ and above in any of the Languages in Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education examination or its equivalent from  recognized institutions. Applicants with a Diploma in Philosophy are eligible for admission provided that theypassed with a―Credit‖or itsequivalentfroma recognized institution.

The programme courses are spread over a period of four (4) academic years or eight (8) academic semesters. To graduate, a student will be expected to cover 96 credit factors in Philosophy and at least 24 CFs from other disciplines. The programme will be offered on Full-Timebasis.

Full Time  Ksh – 68,500 per Semester

Online Learining (Odel) – Ksh – 54,500 per Semester

Applications should be on official forms available at Tharaka University College in Gatunga; Non-refundable fee of KES 2,000 for postgraduate courses degree, and diploma programmes and KES 1,000 for certificate courses to be deposited in the following accounts:

Bank Name        Account Name:   Branch       Account Tharaka University


Co-operative      Fees   Collection  

Bank                     Account                 Chuka       0112972400000

Equity Bank        Fees   Collection   Chuka      021 0277753588


KCB Bank           Fees   Collection   Chuka       1240985967


How to Apply?

Reach out admission Office via 0721839583 or 0703684570