Physics is the study of the physical world around us in relation to matter and energy. From the day we are born we study the things around us in an effort to understand how they work and relate to each other and make them clearer. We also attempt to describe them through formulation of simple rules and principles. It is the continued scrutiny of everything we know about the world around us that leads to the lifelong study of Physics. Sometimes when we look at things closely we discover things that we had overlooked initially. Physics gives students the opportunity to observe measure, analyze and draw relevant conclusions about phenomena around them.

On completion of the B.Sc. in Physics programme the graduates are expected to:-

Carry out laboratory research

Obtain opportunities in industry dealing with optics, electronics, magnetics and other hard/software-based job markets

Qualify for post graduate study in physics, applied physics and other areas of the natural sciences

All candidates admitted to the Bachelor of Science degree program must satisfy the minimum entry requirements stipulated in the common University entrance regulations. In addition, the candidate must have passed the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) with the minimum grades as indicated in the following subjects: Physics B- or Physical Science B, Mathematics C+. Those holding qualifications equivalent to the above from institutions recognized by  Tharaka University College Academic Board may also be admitted. Admission may be offered to outstanding Diploma holders in Physical Sciences with a bias towards Physics and have passed with a credit or above or their equivalent. Such cases will be considered on a case by case merit.

The Physics syllabus for the Bachelor of Science degree shall take a full time student four academic years each with two 17-week semesters comprising of fifteen (15) and two (2) weeks of teaching and examination respectively during which the student will register for a minimum of 18 CFs per semester. A minimum of 4 Physics courses in the first year of study and 4 Physics courses in the second year of study shall be offered to students taking Physics as one of their main subjects of study. Students not taking Physics as one of their main subjects may take only one Physics unit per semester in year 1 and year 2. However such students shall not be allowed to proceed with BSc Physics shall take minimum of 6 physics units in each semester.

Full Time  Ksh – 73,500 per Semester

Online Learining (Odel) – Ksh – 54,500 per Semester

Applications should be on official forms available at Tharaka University College in Gatunga; Non-refundable fee of KES 2,000 for postgraduate courses degree, and diploma programmes and KES 1,000 for certificate courses to be deposited in the following accounts:

Bank Name        Account Name:   Branch       Account Tharaka University


Co-operative      Fees   Collection  

Bank                     Account                 Chuka       0112972400000

Equity Bank        Fees   Collection   Chuka      021 0277753588


KCB Bank           Fees   Collection   Chuka       1240985967


How to Apply?

Reach out admission Office via 0721839583 or 0703684570