The Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Foundations Programme is designed to produce professionals with necessary knowledge and skills in philosophy of education, sociology of education, history and comparative international education. The Programme s enables students to develop a theoretical and conceptual frameworks for studying teaching and learning, and also encourages professional educators to develop knowledge and practice in their own fields of specialization. The Programme produces professionals who are capable of analyzing the role of education in the processes of economic growth, political development, and social change; examining educational policy issues and locating their solutions within local and international contexts; and making informed contributions to contemporary debates about educational theory, practice, and solutions.

By the end of the Programme, the learner should be able to:

  • Plan and conduct research in topical areas of educational foundations.
  • Apply knowledge and skills of educational foundations in educational activities and organizations.
  • Critique the formulation and implantation of educational policies
  • Plan and offer training in respective areas of educational foundations

Holders of Master’s degree in Educational Foundations from the universities recognized by the Commission for University Education and the University College Academic Board will be eligible for admission into the Programme.


The Programme shall be delivered on full-time or part-time basis. Full-time students shall take a minimum of three years, while part-time students shall take up to six years to complete the Programme. The Programme is offered through coursework, research, thesis and examinations. A candidate must successfully complete a minimum of 30 CFs of coursework and 15 CFs of thesis in order to qualify to graduate. This Programme will be offered by face-to-face and e-learning modes.

Full Time  Ksh-215,000/= per year 

Applications should be on official forms available at Tharaka University  in Gatunga; Non-refundable fee of KES 2,000 for postgraduate courses degree, and diploma programmes and KES 1,000 for certificate courses to be deposited in the following accounts:

Bank Name        Account Name:   Branch       Account Tharaka University


Co-operative      Fees   Collection  

Bank                     Account                 Chuka       0112972400000

Equity Bank        Fees   Collection   Chuka      021 0277753588


KCB Bank           Fees   Collection   Chuka       1240985967


How to Apply?

Reach out admission Office via 0721839583 or 0703684570