Geography enables students to appreciate the complexity of our world and the diversity of its environments, economies and cultures. Postgraduate Students can use this knowledge to find out solutions to unique challenges in the daily endeavors.


The expected outcomes of the programme are to:

  • Advance the Postgraduate students geospatialknowledge
  • Apply the various geospatial techniques inresearch.
  • Participate in formulation of natural and human resource management strategies and policies at local, national and internationallevels.
  • Engage in scientific research and generation ofknowledge.

To be admitted into the Masters programme, an applicant must be in possession of the following minimum qualifications: Holder of a Bachelor of arts/science degree in Geography or Bachelor of education second class honor upper division (with Geography as one of the reaching subjects) from a recognized Institution of higher learning, OR Holder of a Bachelor of arts/science degree in Geography or Bachelor of education second class honors lower division (with Geography as one of the teaching subjects) from a recognized Institution of higher learning with two years relevant working experience.

The programme takes 2 to 4 years to complete for full-time and part-time students, respectively. It will be conducted through course-work, examination and thesis. The Masters Programme in Geography normally takes a minimum of two years. NB: 1 Credit Factor (CF) is equivalent to 15 lecture hours or 30 practical hours. The course comprises of compulsory courses for each year relevant to both physical, human geography and geotechnologies. The Department of Geography emphasizes two geographic tracks including: Physical Geography, which focuses on the Earth‘s Biophysical aspects of the environment, and Human Geography. Both tracks are strongly blended with principles and applications of Geoinformatics and research methodology.

Full Time  Ksh – 120,000 per Semester

Applications should be on official forms available at Tharaka University College in Gatunga; Non-refundable fee of KES 2,000 for postgraduate courses degree, and diploma programmes and KES 1,000 for certificate courses to be deposited in the following accounts:

Bank Name        Account Name:   Branch       Account Tharaka University


Co-operative      Fees   Collection  

Bank                     Account                 Chuka       0112972400000

Equity Bank        Fees   Collection   Chuka      021 0277753588


KCB Bank           Fees   Collection   Chuka       1240985967


How to Apply?

Reach out admission Office via 0721839583 or 0703684570